Local News

Homewood combines two committees in attempt to streamline government

Homewood trustees approved several measures Tuesday, March 22, that will enable a merger of two village review boards, the Plan Commission and the Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA).

The seven-member combined board will be known as the Planning and Zoning Commission.

Village Economic Development Director Tom Vander Woude told trustees the amount of work required of the Plan Commission has been reduced in recent years because the village has little undeveloped land.

One of the Plan Commission's primary duties is to oversee new subdivisions. The primary task of the Zoning Board of Appeals is to review variance petitions . . .

You have reached content available exclusively to Homewood-Flossmoor Chronicle digital subscribers.

Receive a 3-day free trial of unlimited digital access.

Already a subscriber? Login here.


Fall events

Saturday, Sept. 24

  • Homewood Fall Fest and Chili Cook-off, noon to 9 p.m. Chili tasting is open to the public for a donation from 3 to 5 p.m. Three live music performances, plus horse-drawn wagon rides, a pumpkin patch, crafts and other activities.

Saturday, Oct. 15

  • Dia de los Muertos in downtown Homewood. Details to follow.

Community Calendar