Local News

Flossmoor Veterans Wall of Honor groundbreaking set for Aug. 9

Flossmoor Veterans’ Memorial Inc. will host a ceremonial groundbreaking ceremony from 2:30 to 3 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 9, on the site of the proposed Wall of Honor north of Flossmoor Road between the Flossmoor train station and Park Place.

The public is invited to participate.

Retired Flossmoor Mayor Paul Braun, who serves as FVM’s president, will host the groundbreaking. He will introduce representatives from Canadian National Railway (CN)  and America in Bloom, which awarded FVM a $25,000 grant in January 2023 to fund its landscaping efforts.  

A rendering shows the design of Flossmoor’s future veterans memorial at the southwest corner of
Flossmoor Park. A groundbreaking ceremony will be held Aug. 9. (Provided image)

Additional remarks will be offered by Flossmoor Mayor Michelle Nelson and retired U.S. Army Capt. Calvin Young, who sits on the FVM Steering Committee and has been an active participant in the Wall of Honor effort.


“FVM’s mission has always been twofold,” Braun said. “Our primary objective was to return a Wall of Honor recognizing our community’s veterans to the village. Flossmoor last had a site to honor, reflect upon, and remember our residents’ sacrifices after World War II, when a temporary marker was dedicated in the center island. This new, expanded Wall of Honor gives us a permanent, dedicated site that will serve future generations as well.

“Our secondary objective was to educate the public about the sheer number of veterans who have lived, worked and raised their families in our community since World War I. We’ve collected nearly 950 names thanks to community engagement and the support of our residents. Keeping our veterans’ stories at the forefront of our village’s story is important to our continued to success.”

FVM expects to construct the $100,000 Veterans’ Wall of Honor on a 9,500-square-foot parcel located north of Flossmoor Road and east of the Metra/CN tracks. Designed by Flossmoor architect Michael Matthys, the Wall of Honor will provide a tribute to all current and former Flossmoor residents who are serving or have served our nation’s armed forces.

In addition to Braun, other corporate officers and members of the fundraising and communications subcommittees include John Beele, Kristine Condon, Richard Condon, Flossmoor Village Trustee Brian Driscoll, Jim Fornaciari, Josh Grenard, Robert Guilfoyle, Phil Lee, Flossmoor Village Clerk Gina LoGalbo, Tony Manos, Greg Mitchell, Erich Stockwell and Calvin Young. 

For more information, to donate, or to provide the name of a veteran to the group’s commemorative program booklet, visit @honoringflossmoorvets on Facebook/Instagram, @FlossmoorVWH on Twitter,  https://flossmoorvets.square.site on the Web, or [email protected] via e-mail.

News by email

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Free weekly newsletter

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Most read stories this week

Community Calendar