Local News

Election 2023: Elementary school boards mostly remain the same, plus other election results

Homewood School District 153 will keep the same board it has after the April 4 election. In Flossmoor School District 161, three incumbents were re-elected.

Four incumbents in District 153 ran unopposed for re-election. The unofficial vote totals were Ashanti Bethea with 1,338 votes, or 24.58%; Alexander Bosch with 1,355, or 24.89%; Jim Schmidt with 1,417, or 26.03%; and Ronald Zinnerman with 1,333, or 24.49%.

During a panel discussion sponsored by the Chronicle early in February, Bosch, Schmidt and Zinnerman indicated they hope to continue the work that earned the district the trust of voters in 2022, when a referendum increasing the base tax rate received overwhelming support.

Three District 161 incumbents were re-elected, David Linnear with 1,863 votes, or 27.94%; Christina Popolla-Vlietstra with 1,611, or 24.16% and Michael Rouse with 1,657 votes, or 24.85%.

Challenger Theartris Childress received 1,537 votes, or 23.05%, and did not make the cut.

Interviews with the District 161 candidates can be found at the Chronicle’s Meet the Candidates page.

Other results

  • Homewood-Flossmoor Park District Board of Commissioners: Incumbent Brent Bachus was re-elected with 3,052 votes, or 50.55%. Newcomer Angela Coderre was elected with 2,985 votes, or 49.45%.
  • Flossmoor Public Library Board of Trustees: Four unopposed candidates were elected, including Lisa Komorowski with 1,244 votes, or 25.83%; Jessica Barnes with 1,234, or 25.62%;  Leilani Shute with 1,147, or 23.81%; and Christina Roberts with 1,192, or 24.75%.
  • Homewood Public Library Board of Trustees: Three unopposed candidates were elected to six-year terms, including newcomer Amanda Jo Greep with 1,632 votes, or 32.82%; incumbent Adrienne River  with 1,682, or 33.83%; and newcomer Thomas Popelka with 1,658, or 33.35%. One candidate, Jennifer Cutshall, ran unopposed for a four-year term and received 1,767 votes.
  • Prairie State College District 515 Board of Trustees: Incumbents Michelle Aldana with 8,052 votes, or 26.24%, and Camiella D. Williams with 8,719, or 28.41% were re-elected. Newcomer Theresa McCoy-Carpenter was elected with 8,214 votes, or 26.76%. Challenger William S. McClinton received 5,706 votes, or 18.59%, but was not elected.

News by email

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Free weekly newsletter

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Most read stories this week