Local News

Illinois Philharmonic Orchestra season tickets on sale

The Illinois Philharmonic Orchestra has announced its 2023-24 season, with its opening night concert, “Music of the Americas,” set for 5:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 14.

The first performance of the seven-concert season will feature violinist Stella Chen, who will lead on two concertos, including the world premiere of former IPO Composer-in-Residence Jonathan Cziner’s violin concerto. The performance also will feature works by Marquez, Barber and Ginastera.

The orchestra is under the direction of Maestro Stilian Kirov who has served as music director since 2017. He is credited with enhancing the performance repertoire of IPO and establishing the composer-in-residence competition. 

The Nov. 18 concert at 7:30 p.m. will feature works by Piazzolla and Mozart with a world premiere of a piece by Composer-in-Residence Oswald Huynh. Guest performer violinist Azusa Tashiro will join the orchestra on “The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires” by Piazzolla.


The Dec. 9 IPO Holiday Festival at 3 p.m. will be a celebration of voice and music. Chicago Community Chorus, under the direction of Keith Hampton, will join the IPO for a family-friendly holiday program.

On Feb. 24, pianist Sean Chen joins the IPO for the 7:30 p.m. program featuring a newly commissioned work by Arlene Sierra, part of the Virginia B. Toulon Orchestral Commissions Program. Also on the program is a preview of Concerto for Orchestra, a new work by Wynton Marsalis, and Chen will be featured on Gershwin’s “Piano Concerto in F.”

The March 16 concert at 3 p.m. will feature a world premiere “Gwendolyn Brooks Settings,” a co-commission by Augusta Read Thomas and vocals by Anima-Glen Ellyn Children’s Chorus and ChiArts. Thomas, a Pulitzer Prize finalist, will use poems from Poet Laureate Gwendolyn Brooks’ “Bronzeville Boys and Girls.” The program also will feature “The Lark Ascending” by Vaughn Williams and Debussy’s “Suite Bergamasque.”

The April 13 program at 7:30 p.m. features a world premiere piece by Composer-in-Residence Oswald Huynh paired with three works by Bologne, Mozart and Haydn.

The final concert of the season on May 13 at 7:30 p.m. will include Beethoven’s “Symphony No. 9” in celebration of the 200th anniversary of the first performance of the work. 

Also on the program is a world premiere piece by Huynh, and Caroline Shaw’s “Seven Joys” that will feature the Chicago Community Chorus and four outstanding soloists: Kimberly E. Jones, soprano; Leah Dexter, mezzo-soprano; Ryan Townsend Strand, tenor; Bill McMurray, baritone. 

All performances are at the Ozinga Chapel on the campus of Trinity Christian College in Palos Heights. Tickets for individual concerts start at $48 and are on sale for any of the seven concerts of the season. Information is at ipomusic.org or at 708-481-7774.

News by email

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Free weekly newsletter

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Most read stories this week

Community Calendar