Local News

League of Women Voters schedules candidate forums

The Homewood-Flossmoor League of Women Voters has scheduled forums to give voters a chance to hear from the candidates running for village trustee and school board positions.

Wednesday, March 1: Homewood-Flossmoor District 233 board, 7 p.m., H-F Auditorium. Doors open at 6:30 p.m. Voters will select three board members from six people running.

Incumbents Pamela Jackson, Nathan Legardy and Gerald Pauling II are seeking re-election. They are challenged by newcomers Charles E. Dieringer Jr. and Christopher K. Riedel, and former board member Beth Larocca, who served one term on the board.

Monday, March 13: Homewood Village Trustees, 7 p.m., Homewood Public Library. Doors open at 6:30 p.m. Voters will elect four board members. 


Current board members Jay Heiferman, Chenise “Cece” Belue and Julie Willis are seeking four-year terms and Lisa Purcell a two-year term. All filed as members of the Greater Homewood Party. They are being challenged by Anne Colton, a former board member, running as an independent for a four-year term.

Wednesday, March 15: Flossmoor Village Trustees, 7 p.m., Flossmoor Village Board Room. Doors open at 6:30 p.m.  Voters will elect three board members.

Current village board members James Mitros, Rosalind Mustafa and George Lofton are running for four-year terms. They are being challenged by Arlene “Sugar” Al-Amin.

The mission of the League of Women Voters is to promote political responsibility through informed and active participation in government. The League is both non-partisan and a political organization. It is non-partisan in that it never supports or opposes any candidate or political party. It is political in that it studies governmental issues and, with member consensus, takes a position and action based on the position.

News by email

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Free weekly newsletter

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Most read stories this week