Local News

College Board names 155 H-F High students for AP honors recognition

Homewood-Flossmoor High School has announced that 155 students have earned AP Scholar awards for their exceptional achievement on Advanced Placement exams.
The scores are for work completed during the 2017-2018 school year when H-F offered 25 AP courses recognized for their quick pace and academic rigor. Students are given the support they need from these classes by teachers and parents, Superintendent Von Mansfield explained.
The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP exams. 
H-F had four members of the Class of 2018 — Allie Mangel, now at Princeton University; Emma Novak, now at Northwestern University; Cole Weber, now at the University of Notre Dame; and John Wooton, now at Cornell University — named National AP Scholars. They scored at least 4 out of a possible 5 on all AP exams taken, and had scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams during their time at H-F. 
H-F had 34 students ranked AP Scholars with Distinction. These students received an average score of at least 3.5 out of 5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on at least five exams. 
AP Scholars with Distinction from the class of 2018, and their current schools, are: Ethan Bosch, Iowa State University; Declan Cawley, Bradley University; Michael Colton, serving with the U.S. Army; Evgenia Ermasova, DePaul University; Joseph Humphrey, University of Illinois.
Angelina Izguerra and Destiny Izguerra, both at the University of Kentucky; Imani Jones, Washington University; Theodore Komorowski, Loyola University; Mary Moran, Susquehanna University; Kayla Renfore, University of Iowa; Alessandro Vazquez, University of Illinois; Simone Williams, Yale University.
Current H-F students recognized as AP Scholars with Distinction are Jack Anderson, Josephine Bachus, Barbara Burns, Joan Coderre, Victoria D’Astici, Margaret Doran, Jose Julian Garcia, Alannah Hill, Perry Hoag III, Aisha Ibrahim, Jeremy Libretti-River, Jake Lutz, Shallon Malfeo, Audrey McKillip, Emma McKillip, Kensuke Nakamura, Sally Pauss, Henry Thiros, Alexandra Van Voorhees, Myles Walker and Mara Winfrey.
AP Scholars with Honor are those students who received an average score of at least 3.25 out of 5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. 
AP Scholars with Honor from the Class of 2018, and their current schools, are:

Emma Anderson, St. Olaf College; Rachel Berey-Wingate University of Illinois at Chicago; Grace Bingham, University of Minnesota; William Doran, Western Ontario University; Anthony Dowd, University of Illinois; Amanda Fieramosca, St. Xavier University.

Ruth McManus, School of the Art Institute; Anna Moran, Susquehanna University; Lior Rafalovitz, Illinois State University; Noor Ryan, DePaul University; Luca Strohmeier, University of Chicago; Josha Thomas, Northwestern University; Tara Thrall, University of Illinois; and Zi’Onay Walker, Washington University.
Current H-F students honored as AP Scholars with Honor are:
Louis Berman, Jonathan Bodine, Elizabeth Bransky, Brianna Bridges,  Joshua Bridges, Lauryn Castagna, Kevin Cawley, Paul Crecco, Madelyn Fitzgerald, Michael Garrity, Eli Gonzalez, James Humphrey, Taylor Nash, Emily Pearce, Max Perez, Eric Piros, Mia Pravdic, Janellie Roach and Olivia Streitmatter.
AP Scholars received scores of 3 or higher out of 5 on three or more AP exams. AP Scholars from the Class of 2018, and their current schools, are: Sarah Fester Albers, IE University in Spain; Antonio Archilla, Illinois Institute of Technology; Raina Bailey, New Mexico State University; Jacqueline Bassey, University of Illinois; Antoine Bouyer, Valparaiso University; Kendall Carter, Illinois State University; Jai Cunningham, Oberlin College.
Kennedy Dames, Tuskegee University; Lauren Davidson, Purdue University; Sydney Duntz, University of Tennessee; Meghan Dwyer, University of Iowa; Marcell Ellis, Drake University; Alexandra Fieramosca, St. Xavier University; Jaden Gladden, University of Illinois; Phillip Hallam, St. Olaf College.
Sydney Hampton, University of South Carolina; Nathaniel Hardy, Northwestern University; Khadijah Harris, North Carolina A& T University; Delaney Herkert,University of Illinois; Jordyn Hester, University of Illinois at Chicago; David Hill, Loyola University; Allison Hrechko, Trinity Christian College.
Stewart Keene, Seattle University; Kaitlin Lee, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville; Sarah Lendi, Western Michigan University; Erik Manzig, University of Victoria; Camela Moore, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale; George O’Malley, North Central College; Garret Oatis, Morehouse College.
Kweku Osei, University of Illinois; Courtney Pugh, The Ohio State University; Alex Rechsteiner, University of Nebraska; Raven Reeves, University of Kentucky; Michaela Reid, University of Illinois; Jalen Spain, Tuskegee University; Breana Spight, University of Illinois.
Emma Temple, Michigan State University; Tyler Van Kley, University of Illinois; Chloe Walls, The Ohio State University; John Weeks, University of Illinois; and Kayla Winfrey,University of Notre Dame.
Current H-F students names AP Scholar are: Maya Alborn, Nicholas Amuh, Udochukwu Anidobu, Margaret Bauer, Lily Callen, Phillip Cole, Joseph Crecco, Kyndall Davis, Judah Epperson, Jaida Fourte, Jose Justin Garcia, Jovan Gutierrez, Camille Hobson, Jazmyn Kelley, Nala King, Caroline Larocca, Dylan Lunceford, Joshua Maicach, Rebecca May, Fiorella Michelis, Joshua Miggins, Zoe Monroe, JackLayden Mott, Olufemi Orekoya, Eniola Oyefeso, Matthew Piotrowski, Ethan Richert, Peyton Riegler, Tiana Sharpe, Tai Shonkwiler, Calahan Smith, James Steiner, Alex Szczender, Anna Thompson, Kevin Thompson, Jack Williams, David Winicky, Katelyn Zalewski and Isaiah Zillman.
“We are very proud of our AP Scholars,” H-F Principal Jerry Lee Anderson said.  “It takes dedication and perseverance to successfully complete these college level classes and exams. They are giving themselves one of the best opportunities to be college ready and to earn college credit while still in high school.”

News by email

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Free weekly newsletter

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Most read stories this week

Community Calendar