Trophy 2 Provided_slide
Local News

H-F High presents honors to top senior athletes

Homewood-Flossmoor High School presented honors to its top athletes at the 40th annual senior athletic banquet May 31.

  Outstanding Homewood-Flossmoor High graduating
  seniors who received top honors at a sports banquet
  May 31 are, from left, Justin Hall, 110% Award winner;
  Marcell Ellis, top male athlete; Jai Cunningham, top
  female athlete; Kaitlin Lee, 110% Award winner.

  (Provided photo)

Homewood-Flossmoor High School presented honors to its top athletes at the 40th annual senior athletic banquet May 31.

Marcell Ellis was named the top male athlete and received the Cal Mall Award. He played varsity football and was an outstanding member of the track and field team. He is a four-time all-state athlete in track and was a member of the 4×100 and 4×200 relay teams that hold three state titles. Coaches recognized Ellis for his character and team leadership. Ellis also excelled in the classroom, maintaining a 3.9 GPA. He will play football at Drake University.
Jai Cunningham was named the top female athlete, winning the Jan Nolting Award. She was a member of the girls basketball team and the girls track and field team. She overcame injuries during her career to be selected for the varsity basketball team her senior year. She was recognized for her leadership and positive attitude, despite the adversities she faced. She will attend Loyola University majoring in biology.
Justin Hall earned the 110% Award as outstanding male athlete. A member of the Viking football team, Hall was named an Under Armour All-American for his efforts that spurred team members to be their best. He will play football at Northern Illinois University.
Kaitlin Lee was named the female 110% Award winner. She improved her game each year and was the captain of the varsity girls basketball team this year. She has an outstanding academic record and received a Presidential Merit Scholarship to Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville. 
The $1,000 Alec Anderson Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Kaitlin Lee and soccer player Brandon Hurley, who will attend St. Norbert College.
The $1,500 Daniel H. Murray Memorial Scholarship is presented to a student that has outstanding character and academic record and achieved much at his or her sport. The winners were girls basketball team member Aireal Dickson, who will attend the State University of New York at Buffalo, and Kellyn Gerenstein, a member of the football and boys track teams, who will attend The Ohio State University.
Matthew Lewis-Banks was awarded the $3,000 Bruce Keene MVP Memorial Scholarship as an outstanding member of the boys track team. He holds five all-state records. As a junior he qualified for state in three events, and as a senior he was responsible for more points at meets than any other athlete on the team. He will attend Indiana State University.
The Athletic Department also recognized 41 students who earned SWSC All-Academic Athletic Team awards for earning at least one varsity letter as a senior and maintaining at grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale through seven semesters.  Honorees are:
Paige Adams, athletic training aide; Josephine Bachus, girls golf; Kori Barnes, dance; Grace Bingham, softball; Ramon Blanco, boys soccer; Lauren Davidson, girls cross country; Max Dunlavy, boys swimming.
Meghan Dwyer, softball; Marcell Ellis, football and boys track; Elise Epps, softball; Opeyem Joseph Fatuki, football; Jaden Gladden, boys track; Philip Rob Hallam, ice hockey and lacrosse; Syndney Hampton, girls volleyball; Nathaniel Hardy, lacrosse; Andrew Harris, boys cross country.
Delaney Herkert, girls volleyball; David Hill, athletic training aide; Joseph Humphrey, boys swimming, boys water polo; Caleb Izenbart, baseball; Angelina Izguerra, athletic training aide.
Imani Jones, girls gymnastics; Jonathan Luong, boys soccer; Erik Manzig, boys tennis; Enrique Munoz, boys volleyball; Emma Novak, badminton, girls gymnastics and girls cross country; Kyle Oshea, boys soccer; Claudia Pollmacher, girls soccer.
Courtney Pugh, girls volleyball; Lior Rafalovitz, field hockey; Michaela Reid, girls volleyball; Grace Sowake, girls gymnastics; Josha Thomas, girls cross country; Bridget Van Etten, badminton; Tyler Van Kley, Lacrosse and boys soccer; Alessandro Vazquez, lacrosse and boys soccer.
Z’iOnay Walker, girls diving and girls track; Chloe Walls, girls cross country; Cole Weber, boys golf and boys tennis; Simone Williams, girls gymnastics; John Benjamin Wootton, lacrosse and boys soccer.

News by email

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Free weekly newsletter

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Most read stories this week

Community Calendar