H-F broadcasting Provided_slide
Local News

H-F broadcasting students win top honors in regional competitions

  The Homewood-Flossmoor High School student
  delegation shows off the awards won at the Midwest
  Media Educators Association competition. Students
  won nine honors.
(Provided photos)

Homewood-Flossmoor High School students who are part of the Viking Broadcasting Company have won top honors at regional competitions and several are advancing to national competition.

“It was a strong year as we were recognized with numerous awards all over the Midwest,” said March Ciesielski, teacher and head of the Broadcasting Department.
The Viking Broadcasting Company is a production of the advanced broadcasting classes. It features a student run television station and a student run radio station as part of the curriculum. 
At the Midwest Media Educators Association contest April 27, H-F students won nine state awards, tying for the most awards presented by MMEA. It also was the highest number of honors H-F students have won in this competition, including three first place honors.
The winners are:
  • 1st Place movie trailer — Jalen Robinson and Seun Adeyiga.
  • 1st Place news story — Jasmine Franklin.
  • 1st Place public service announcement — Zac Lueder.
  • 2nd Place TV show — Chase Gray and Lauren Parker.
  • 3rd Place natural audio news — Liam O’Connor and Jasmine Franklin.
  • 3rd Place TV show — Jasmine Frankline and Tiki Brown.
  • 3rd Place news program — Asante Hayes.
  • 3rd Place dramatic narrative — Asante Hayes.
  • 3rd Place commercial — Grace Sowacke and Griffin Carter.
In addition, Sam Ogali received a $2,500 scholarship from the association.
Five students were selected winners in the National Association of Television Arts and Sciences video contest on May 5. It was the first time five winners were selected from one school, Ciesielski said. The students were honored at a Chicago reception on May — and their winning pieces will go on to national competition.
The winners are:
  • Zac Lueder for a public service announcement.
  • Asante Hayes for a newscast.
  • Nora Ryan and Josie Bachus for arts and entertainment/cultural affairs segment.
  • Asante Hayes for short form fiction.
  • Jordan Davis and Bryce Dorsey for public affairs/community service.
At the Illinois Women’s Press Association video contest held in April, H-F students won several awards and the first place winners are advancing to national competition.
The winners are:
  • 1st Place radio prepared report — Gabrielle Caldanaro.
  • 1st Place video news story — Nora Ryan and Josie Bachus.
  • 1st Place video sports story — Zac Lueder.
  • 2nd Place video news story — Jasmine Franklin.
  • 2nd Place video feature story — Jasmine Franklin.
  • 3rd Place video feature story — Jaelyn White. 
  • Honorable Mention video feature story — Francisco Mendoza.
  • Honorable Mention television interview or talk show category — Sam Ogali.
At the Golden Lion Awards in Cincinnati on April 28, H-F students won the most awards of any school entered. It was the first time H-F took part in the competition, Ciesielski said.

The winners are:

  • 1st Place public service announcement — Zac Lueder.
  • 1st Place news story/newscast — Asante Hayes.
  • 1st Place commercial — Nora Ryan and Josie Bachus.
  • 2nd Place commercial — Griffin Carter and Grace Sowacke
  • 3rd Place news story/newscast — Jasmine Franklin.
  • 3rd Place short narrative — Raven Davis.
  • 3rd Place music video — Janssen Mitchell and Ryan Hutchinson.

News by email

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Free weekly newsletter

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Most read stories this week