Local News

H-F journalism students win state honors

Two Homewood-Flossmoor High School journalism students won top honors in the Illinois High School Association’s statewide journalism contest April 28.
First place honors were awarded to Lior Rafalovitz, a senior, for her two-page yearbook layout design, and Emma McKillip, a junior, won third place in photography.
They were among 10 H-F students who advanced to state competition after H-F journalism students won top honors at IHSA Sectionals. It was the fifth consecutive year that H-F has taken the championship title at sectionals.

Winners at the sectionals level were:

First Place: Jaelyn White, broadcast news; Sam Roberson, headline writing; Ryan Akridge, newspaper design; Bryce Stiff, sports writing; Lior Rafalovitz, yearbook layout double-page spread; Lior Rafalovitz and Summer Kane, yearbook theme development; Ashley Dureke, yearbook caption writing.

Second Place: Emma McKillip, photo storytelling.
Third Place: Michaela Reid, copy editing; Mackenzie Lyseng, editorial cartooning.
Fourth Place: Adekemi Kasali, feature writing; Jaira Stanley, infographics; Sam Roberson, news writing.
Sixth Place: Michaela Reid, editorial writing; Chloe Kapica, review writing; Ashley Dureke, yearbook copy writing.
The students were under the guidance of Glen Leyden, English/journalism teacher, and Candi Helsel-Wilk, fine arts/photography teacher.

News by email

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Free weekly newsletter

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Most read stories this week