Local News

College Board names H-F grads AP Scholars

The College Board has named seven recent graduates of Homewood-Flossmoor High School as National Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars.
Michael Bonthron, Nathaniel Bouchie, Payton Gallery, Blessing Ibe, Matthew Scholefield, Lucy Sloan and Cole Weber were selected for earning an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, plus scores of 4 or higher on eight or more AP exams. The highest possible AP exam score is 5.
The College Board scored exams based on classwork in the 2016-17 school year.
H-F offers 22 AP courses that are designed by the College Board. H-F faculty go through a special College Board training program before they can register as AP teachers, according to Nancy Spaniak, H-F director of curriculum, instruction  and professional development. 
Taking an AP course give students greater challenges and also allows students to sit for College Board exams that can earn them college credit or exempt them from entry level college work, she said. 
H-F has doubled its AP program over the last decade. Most recently, H-F was named a member of the first Lead Higher Initiative, a national effort that seeks to enable secondary schools to fully reflect their racial and economic diversity at the highest academic levels in K-12 education and to elevate the national conversation about low-income students and students of color beyond achieving proficiency to a focus on academic excellence.
AP Scholars With Distinction had average scores of 3.5 on all AP exams taken, plus scores of 3 or higher on five or more exams. The list includes:
Ethan Bosch, Zoe Branch, Emma Brown, Declan Cawley, Joseph Cipriano, Joan Coderre, Michael Colton, Bailey Didier, Evgenia Ermosova, Joseph Greenebaum, Eric Hagerman, Lillian Hamer, Henry Heligas, Joseph Humphrey.
Destiny Izguerra, Cierra King, Allie Mangel, Andronicus Marati, David Meehan, Anna Moran, Jack-Layden Mott, Madeline Moxley, Emma Novak, Myah Rhodes, Jacob Rothchild, Thomas Simon, Eliza Sykes.
Josha Thomas Tara Thrall, Malika Toguem, Sarah Weiner, Simone Williams, Arthur Willis, John Wootton, Tsai Yun Yang. 

AP Scholars with honors maintained an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, plus scores of 3 or higher on four or more exams. The list includes: 
Sarah Albers Fester, Emma Anderson, Sopuluchukwu Anidobu, Josphine Bachus, Mekhi James Baclig, Matthew Banks, Melinda Berman, Joshua Bridges, Phillip Cole, Erin Cook, Lauren Davidson, Kyndall Davis, Kathryn Donermeyer, Anthony Dowd.
Madelyn Fitzgerald, Claire Fortman, Jaida Fourte, Jaden Gladden, Nathaniel Hardy, Sydney Hayes, Alannah Hill, Angelina Izguerra, Reese Kaiser.
Joshua Maicach, Shallon Malfeo, Brianna Meyer, Mary Moran,
 Garret Oatis, Kayla Renfroe, Olivia Ryan, Tiana Sharpe, Kimani Smit, Hayley Sutherland, Aira Tantoco, Henry Thiros, Tyler Van Kley, Alessandro Vazquez, Robert Venegas, Zi’Onay Walker, Kayla Winfrey.
AP students with scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams were: 

Desean Aikens, Boluwatife Ajanaku, Andrew Asunmo, Jordan Aviles, Isolde Belisle Dempsey, Olivia Bergeron, Shelley Berner, Megan Bolling, Antoine Bouyer, Audrey Brown, Barbara Burns. 
Lily Callen, Ava Calpino, Naji Cameron,Tylar Canty-West, Kendall Carter, Joshua Chambers, Courtney Commodore, Megan Connors, Jai Cunningham, Victoria D’Astici, Lance Davis, Meghan Davis, Natalie Davis, Margaret Doran, William Doran, Sydney DuBose, Krystal Dureke.
Nnaeto Emechebe, Zion Epperson, Ryan Fitzgerald, Kendra Fourte, Alexander Garcia, Jose Garcia, Jose Justin Garcia, Sydney Hampton, Morgan Harvey, Amber Haywood, Isabel Henry, Jordyn Hester, David Hill, Perry Hoag, Camille Hobson, Allison Hrechko, Mary Huffman, James Humphrey.
Aisha Ibrahim, Sophia Johnson, Shannon Jordan, Brennan Kaiser, Stewart Keene, Samantha Klupchak, Theodore Komorowski, Nicholas Lambros, Caroline Larocca, Jalyn Lockett, Jonathan Luong.
Caroline Madden, Glynnis McManamy, Camela Moore, Micah Moore, Kensuke Nakamura, Chiedozie Nwaru, George O’Malley, Olufemi Orekoya, Cessanye Osby, Joylynn Osei, Nana Osei.
Meera Patel, Daniela Pena, Jasmine Penman, Gianmarco Petrelli, Matthew Piotrowski, Gabrielle Pizza, Courtney Pugh, Alex Rechsteiner, Samantha Roberson, Dilan Rutland. 

Noor Ryan, Kaitlyn Sanders, Simeon Shama, Malik Sims, Breana Spight, Alexandria Staton, Luca Strohmeier, Emma Temple, Madeline Tillman, Sebastian Valentin,  Michael Van Etten, Jadan Vines, Myles Walker, Catherine Wassilak, John Weeks, Mara Winfrey.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: This story was edited from the originally posted version to include students listed in the last paragraph. The Chronicle regrets the error.)

News by email

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Free weekly newsletter

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Most read stories this week